The Wormworld Saga by Daniel Lieske

Okay, here’s something different and beautiful:  Daniel Lieske’s Wormworld Saga, a free online graphic novel.  Only one chapter exists thus far (with Chapter 2 due in December), so I might be premature in recommending it, but I feel pretty comfortable giving a strong thumbs up to Chapter 1.  The story centers on a young boy named Jonas’ fantastical adventure into another world via his grandmother’s attic, and it looks like he’s going to be fighting both inner and outer demons along the way.

I’m no art critic, and I’m not our resident graphic novel fanatic, but I just got pulled into this story and artwork so quickly and so deeply.  I could try to describe what makes it great (the drawings! the color! the dialogue! the emotion!), but I’m not sure I have the language, so it’s easier to just tell you to click on the link above, read Chapter One, and decide for yourself.   Apparently, there is also an iPad app that contains both the story and cool stuff like production notes, sketches, and other stuff about how the comic is being made.  I suspect that is worth checking out, and hey, also free!  (I think some of the production bits might cost something, but you can definitely get Chapter 1 for free.)

(Thanks to Chris L. for the heads up about this one.  Keep those recommendations coming!)

Leave a comment

Filed under fantasy, fiction, graphic novel

Leave a Reply

