Guest review: Bigger Than A Breadbox by Laurel Snyder

I’d like to sometimes change things up a bit on this blog and include reviews written by actual middle schoolers.  Here is the first of what I hope will be many guest reviews!

Guest Review by Claire H., 5th grader.

I loved Bigger Than A Breadbox by Laurel Snyder. It is one of my favorite books of all-time. The book is about a girl named Rebecca, whose mother decides to leave her father, taking Rebecca and her little brother, Lew, with her to stay at their Gran’s house. On her first day there, Rebecca goes into the attic to get away from her mother and while she is there, finds a collection of old breadboxes. There is one in particular that sticks out to her because it is clean, unlike the others. She soon realizes that the breadbox is magical, whatever she wishes for will appear inside the breadbox, as long as it can fit inside. Rebecca struggles to figure out the true meaning of life and the breadbox in this novel.

I liked this book because it is something that, because I am a kid, is nice to see from a kid’s perspective. I really like books about girls like Rebecca, who have a hard time, and this book really fit into that category. It is also really suspenseful, which I like in a book. I finished the book in only two days, I couldn’t stop reading. It is a real page-turner.

2 Comments

Filed under fantasy, fiction, realistic fiction, suspense, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Guest review: Bigger Than A Breadbox by Laurel Snyder

  1. Allison

    I am twitter friends with Laurel Snyder and she sent me a study guide for Bigger Than A Breadbox, if you are interested.

  2. Hi Claire! I just wanted to write to say thank you to you, for reading and reviewing. It’s always extra special to hear what kids think. Truly. I’m so grateful to you! xoxoxoLaurel

Leave a Reply

