More play

You know that feeling where you are so focused on something, you lose track of time?

That feeling where you push through some challenge, including a bit of frustration along the way, and then once you get to the other side, you see a new challenge and want to take it on right away?

Yeah, that.

I played more with Scratch today.  In the grand scheme of things, I didn’t make it far at all.  And I had a moment where I opened up the code on another person’s project in order to answer one tiny question I had and was stunned (yes, actually stunned) to see how much in there was completely foreign to me, how overwhelmingly much I have to learn before I can say I am even mildly competent at Scratch.

Some of my code

Some of my code.  The dude goes in circles!

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 11.03.11 PM

More code + my cat

But I loved it.  I think the frustration is a key part of what makes it so enjoyable in the end–the fact that I have no clue how to make something happen, but I know it must be possible, so I’m motivated to figure it out.  So, so sweet when something actually works!  So there is playing around with the code blocks, then (if needed) opening up existing projects that do something similar to try to find the relevant code, and then trying to make it work on my project.  The whole time I was working, I was both tackling the existing problem and also becoming more and more aware of possibilities and what I might want to do next.  It’s not so much how far I got (although I do feel proud of my silly little project!), but just that experience of learning something new.

And check out the new project I’ve just started.  I’ve got some “If/Then” commands going on, and some video motion sensing (so if you wave at the computer, something happens!), and some sounds.  Woot!

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 11.19.21 PM

If/then!!!

Summer is typically a challenge for me.  I very much enjoy having down time and family time, but I miss the kids at school and I miss the structure.  I generally get the blues.  This summer is shaping up to be very different, thanks in large part to making.

Finished out the day by letting my kid give me a makeover (she actually has a nice subtle touch!) and then watching a movie with her.  A good day, with a nice balance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

