Up All Night

My sleep is pretty messed up in general during the summer (I am partial to 4:00 a.m. to noon, given the option), but last night, I got so immersed in Scratch that I didn’t go to bed until 8:00 a.m. this morning (and just slept 4 hours, so I hope to go to bed at a decent hour tonight and reset myself).

I think I started playing in the afternoon sometime, and started the project I ended up really focused on sometime in the early evening.  I estimate that I spent about 14 hours working, with a few little breaks here and there, but mostly just working.  And it felt like nothing–I never felt tired or bored, and even when I did finally go to bed, I felt the urge to get back up and tinker with it.  I felt challenged, and the project of course didn’t end up doing what I had really hoped it would do (but I am keeping it marked as Draft because I am hopeful that I can figure out how to make it work much better), but I was SO HAPPY and fulfilled when I finished this draft.  And I was happy all during the process–even when I was frustrated, I felt deeply at peace.  Here is a link to the game.

The game is essentially a little cute intro and then three mini-“games”: a random silly sentence generator; a drawing game; and a little music sampler thing.

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.28.52 PM

Choose your “game”

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.29.07 PM

Silly sentence generator, part I

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.29.20 PM

Silly Sentence, part II

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.29.53 PM

Drawing

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.30.07 PM

Music

I didn’t use anyone else’s existing code this time, so it was really building from scratch.  I did some searches of the Scratch wiki for explanations of how to work with variables/lists and what certain blocks do, and got some little bits of code there, but for the most part, this was an attempt to really understand the blocks and how they work together, so I didn’t want to grab pieces from other projects without really understanding how to build them myself.  As a result, it does not work how I had hoped!  I wanted the Sentences game to involve the user/player adding words to the lists that are randomly pulled from.  I wanted the drawing game to be considerably more elaborate.  I wanted the music game to involve more user input as well (I think I can make that work; that was the last piece I did, and I was too tired to tackle it).  BUT, I am really proud of all that does work!  Here is some of my code, which maybe looks the same as the code I posted before, but trust me, it’s more complex!

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.26.21 PM

Drawing game code

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 6.26.40 PM

Silly sentences code. This was the hardest one.

Whew.

I slept for a bit, then got together with a friend from school and had a great long conversation about, among other things, creativity and project-based learning and community.  Good, good stuff.  I think this coming year is going to be really interesting!

Now I feel pulled in multiple directions: I want to read The Night Gardener; I want to veg out in front of Netflix; and I want to see if I can get that music game to be something more appealing than what it currently is.  Not sure what I’m going to do first. . .

Update: made a slight improvement very easily on the music piece.  I think I must have just been too tired this morning to see the very simple solution.  It still isn’t what I want, but it’s better!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

