Scratch PicoBoard Solutions

Because I could not find the answer to these questions easily via Google, I am sharing my answers.

1.  Can you use a PicoBoard and a WeDo motor at the same time in Scratch?  YES.  I have two USB ports on my laptop, and although for some reason I had to plug and unplug and refresh Scratch a few times, in the end I was able to use the PicoBoard and WeDo together (using PicoBoard sensors to start the WeDo motor).  I didn’t really do anything fun with it beyond get it working, though.

2. How do you get the slider on the PicoBoard to make a sprite go all the way across the screen?  The slider sensor uses values from 1 to 100, which means it starts in the middle of the screen and goes to the right a bit when you set x to slider sensor value.  In the end, I came up with this (set x to (slider sensor value – 50) * 5) , which isn’t exact because I did some rounding (i.e., the paddle goes off the screen a little on both sides), but works for what I wanted to do:

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.19.51 PM

 

I ended up making a simple pong game and then a simple catch-the-ball game using the slider, learning a bit along the way about cloning sprites and scoring:

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.20.40 PM

 

All in all, a productive and enjoyable evening!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Scratch PicoBoard Solutions

  1. Bob

    This was really helpful. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

