Collaboration and Chaos

Whew.

Another back-to-back activity/recess block survived!  It was crazy in here today!  It felt very chaotic, but at the same time, everyone was behaving (a bit of noisy laughter; a remote control car that “escaped”; but nothing worrisome), and they cleaned up at the end.  I think folks coming through might see the chaos more than anything, but what I see, or at least try to see, is the creativity and learning going on underneath it.

I put a call out last night to faculty for old, busted or outgrown electronics.  The remote-control-car-modification crew has been having so much fun with that project, I figured they could probably get a lot of mileage and learn a lot from taking some things apart and using the components for their own creations.  Today, we received an old laptop!  And promises for an old, non-working iPhone and a busted sewing machine.  We also had a broken old tape/CD player returned to the library, and I turned that over to one of our Makers for tinkering.  She had it cracked open in no time!

IMG_0039

 

 

The remote control car crew continued their work.  The car is getting faster!  “Significantly faster,” as one of the kids said.

IMG_0037

And, lastly, this group of boys started a new project.  They worked mostly today on making the propeller for a fan, using wooden sticks covered in painter’s tape, all connected to a motor/battery combo.  I’m not sure what their plan is (something involving the fan and a pretty involved wooden frame), but one of them kept saying, “a boy can dream big!”  I love that they are dreaming big, and working together.  I love to hear, “Mrs. LaMontagne!  It WORKS!” from across the library.

IMG_0036

 

My main challenge right now, I think, is keeping that chaos at a reasonable level.  We are getting more and more kids using the Makerspace, which is what I want, but I am hoping that organized activities (which will start in a few weeks; I plan to offer one just about every day, and of course kids will be in other activities around the middle school) will space out the energy a bit.

The other challenge is that the same periods that are Maker-heavy are the ones that are book-recommendation heavy, and I don’t want to lose that part of my job. I love talking books with kids!  My reading class visits (which are regular for grades 5 and 6) will help me keep a foot planted in that world of books, but I love the informal conversations around books that pop up during those activity/help periods.

I’m sure it will all balance out, but right this minute, I’m grateful that it’s Friday!  The chaos is a lot of fun, but it’s exhausting for an old introvert like me!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Collaboration and Chaos

  1. dianalrendina

    Love all the tech take-apart – you’ve got a great program going for your kids. It’s hard to balance the chaos – I’m still struggling with that in our Makerspace.

  2. Pingback: The fun returns | Librarian in the Middle

Leave a Reply

