The Groove

It feels like things are finally settling into a sort of groove/routine in the library. A lot of book circulation, and a LOT of activity during recess and study hall times. 5th and 6th grade recess in particular is hopping. Today was a rainy day recess, and the library was packed with kids–reading, beading, sewing, tinkering, and collaborating on projects.

IMG_0139

Playing with Littlebits Synth Kit. This has become very popular lately.

Making bracelets.

Making bracelets.

In my own personal Making, I’ve done a few fun/interesting things lately. First, I got some simple vibration motors and played around with those, making brush bots with my Tinkering activity kids and a few art bots just for the heck of it. I’m trying to find more fun, inexpensive things to make, because once a few kids see something, I end up with a bunch who want to make the same thing. Art bots and brush bots are good for this.

Art bots!

Art bots!

This week, I’ve been testing out our new Hummingbird Robotics Kit.  I ordered this with a handful of kids in mind (not just for them, of course, but I was thinking of a specific group), but I’ve been playing around with it myself to make sure I have all the right software installed and know the essentials of how to work it. I’m using Scratch for the programming piece, and so far, it’s a lot of fun. I have a LONG way to go before I feel at all comfortable, but I’m far enough in to know that it’s a pretty nifty kit.

And that’s the news from the library! Nothing too exciting, but things are rolling right along. . .

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

